January 2015

A regular monthly meeting of the Town of New Hope Board of Aldermen Town Council was held on Tuesday, January 27, 2015, in the New Hope Town Hall. It was called to order at 7:30 p.m. by Mayor Pro Tem Jeff Herbst. Also present were Ald. Carol King, Ald. Bob Parmelee, and Ald. Omar Nunez, Ald. Alexandria Hull, and attorney John Rapier. Absent was Mayor Johnny Hamm.

There were 8 citizens present.

Item 1. Call to order and quorum check.
Citizen Comments. Duke Monson announced he is running for water board and had a petition to be signed. Alan Welch asked that consideration for a sound ordinance for commercial vehicles after the hour of 9 p.m. be put on the Agenda. Terry Sanner commented on checking and researching sales tax due to Town of New Hope.

Item 2. Consent Items
a. Motion made to accept November 2014 minutes by Ald. Bob Parmelee and Ald. Alex Hull made a second. All approved. Motion carried.
b. Treasurer Report given by Treasurer Bob Parmelee. Ald. Parmelee indicated that funds had been received from the NHCEFFC. Motion made to accept the Treasurer Report by Ald. Carol King and Ald. Alex Hull made a second. All approved. Motion carried.

Item 3. Road report was given by Road Commissioner. No work has been done on roads.

Item 4. Town Council members entered into an executive session concerning RFPs received for bids for audit services.

Session began at 7:40 and session ended at 7:55

Atty Rapier reported on background information concerning asking and receiving bids. Four bids were received in timely manner. There was some discussion and questions proposed by the Council members. Ald. Bob Parmelee proposed asking 2 of the responding bidders to come to regular Town Council meeting for questions and discussion. Two companies were selected for invitation and were Evans and McClanahan. Motion to accept the proposal was made by Ald. Jeff Herbst and a second was made by Ald. Alex Hull. All approved. Motion carried.


Item 5. Members were appointed to 2 year terms to the Board of Directors of the New Hope Cultural Educational Facilities Corporation. Motion was made to accept appointed members by Ald. Omar Nunez and Jeff Herbst made a second.

Board of Directors are: Johnny Hamm, President Bob Parmelee
Carol King

Duke Monson Jeff Herbst

There was some discussion concerning upcoming bond issues for Texas Lab1 Careflight, Tarleton State, and Texas A&M College Station.

Item 6. The next Town of New Hope Town Council meeting is scheduled for February 24, 2015, 7:30 p.m. at Town Hall.

Meeting adjourned at 8:18 p.m. 

Download File